( Pp. 30-35)

More about authors
Yueqiang Liu
General Atomics, USA; Southwestern Institute of Physics, China Li Li
College of Science, Donghua University, China
For read the full article, please, register or log in
Recent encouraging results, showing the correlation between the toroidally computed plasma displacement near the X-point on one hand, and the experimentally achieved mitigation or suppression of the type-I edge localized modes (ELMs) by the applied resonant magnetic perturbation (RMP) fields on the other hand, motivates the development of an X-point displacement based criterion, to guide the choice of the magnitude of the ELM control coil current. Full toroidal simulations of the ELM control discharges in four existing devices (MAST,ASDEX Upgrade, has to trigger a minimal level of the has DIII-D and JET), based on the single fluid, resistive magnetiohydrodynamic model with plasma flow, reveal that the applied RMP field has to trigger a minimal level of the X-point displacement, of 1-3 mm, in order for the ELM to be mitigated or suppressed. This plasma response based criterion can be useful for predicting the coil current requirements in future such as ITER.
How to Cite:
Reference list:
A. Loarte, G. Huijsmans, S. Futatani, L. R. Baylor, T. E. Evans, D. M. Orlov, O. Schmitz, M. Becoulet, P. Cahyna, Y. Gribov, A. Kavin, A. Sashala Naik, D. J. Campbell, T. Casper, E. Daly, H. Frerichs, A. Kischner, R. Laengner, S. Lisgo, R. A. Pitts, G. Saibene, and A. Wingen, Nucl. Fusion 54, 33007 (2014).
T. E. Evans, R. A. Moyer, P. R. Thomas, J. G. Watkins, T. H. Osborne, J. A. Boedo, E. J. Doyle, M. E. Fenstermacher, K. H. Finken, R. J. Groebner, M. Groth, J. H. Harris, R. J. La Haye, C. J. Lasnier, S. Masuzaki, N. Ohyabu, D. G. Pretty, T. L. Rhodes, H. Reimerdes, D. L. Rudakov, M. J. Schaffer, G. Wang, and L. Zeng, Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 235003 (2004).
Y. M. Jeon, J.-K. Park, S. W. Yoon, W. H. Ko, S. G. Lee, K. D. Lee, G. S. Yun,Y.U.Nam,W.C.Kim,J.-G.Kwak,K.S.Lee,H.K.Kim,andH.L. Yang (KSTAR team), Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 035004 (2012).
Y. Sun, Y. Liang, Y. Q. Liu, S. Gu, X. Yang, W. Guo, T. Shi, M. Jia, L. Wang, B. Lyu, C. Zhou, A. Liu, Q. Zang, H. Liu, N. Chu, H. H. Wang, T. Zhang, J. Qian, L. Xu, K. He, D. Chen, B. Shen, X. Gong, X. Ji, S. Wang, M. Qi, Y. Song, Q. Yuan, Z. Sheng, G. Gao, P. Fu, and B. Wan, Phys. Rev. Lett. 117, 115001 (2016).
W. Suttrop, A. Kirk, R. Nazikian, N. Leuthold, E. Strumberger, M. Willensdorfer, M. Cavedon, M. Dunne, R. Fischer, S. Fietz, J. C. Fuchs, Y. Q. Liu, R. M. McDermott, F. Orain, D. A. Ryan, E. Viezzer, the ASDEX Upgrade Team, the DIII-D Team, and the Eurofusion MST1 Team, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 59, 014049 (2017).
Y. Liang, H. R. Koslowski, P. R. Thomas, E. Nardon, B. Alper, P. Andrew, Y. Andrew, G. Arnoux, Y. Baranov, M. B ecoulet, M. Beurskens, T. Biewer, M. Bigi, K. Crombe, E. De La Luna, P. de Vries, W. Fundamenski, S. Gerasimov, C. Giroud, M. P. Gryaznevich, N. Hawkes, S. Hotchin, D. Howell, S. Jachmich, V. Kiptily, L. Moreira, V. Parail, S. D. Pinches, E. Rachlew, and O. Zimmermann, Phys. Rev. Lett. 98, 265004 (2007).
A.Kirk,E.Nardon,R.Akers,M.B ecoulet,G.DeTemmerman,B. Dudson, B. Hnat, Y. Q. Liu, R. Martin, P. Tamain, D. Taylor, and the MAST team, Nucl. Fusion 50, 034008 (2010).
G. T. A. Huijsmans, C. S. Chang, C. S. N. Ferraro, L. Sugiyama, F. Waelbroeck, X. Q. Xu, A. Loarte, and S. Futatani, Phys. Plasmas 22, 021805 (2015).
Y. Q. Liu, C. J. Ham, A. Kirk, L. Li, A. Loarte, D. A. Ryan, Y. Sun, W. Suttrop, X. Yang, and L. N. Zhou, Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 58, 114005 (2016).
Y. Q. Liu, A. Kirk, Y. Sun, P. Cahyna, I. T. Chapman, P. Denner, G. Fishpool, A. M. Garofalo, J. R. Harrison, E. Nardon, and the MAST Team, Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 54, 124013 (2012).
A. D. Turnbull, N. M. Ferraro, V. A. Izzo, E. A. Lazarus, J.-K. Park, W. A. Cooper, S. P. Hirshman, L. L. Lao, M. J. Lanctot, S. Lazerson, Y. Q. Liu, A. Reiman, and F. Turco, Phys. Plasmas 20, 056114 (2013).
Y. Q. Liu, A. Kirk, Y. Gribov, M. P. Gryaznevich, T. C. Hender, and E. Nardon, Nucl. Fusion 51, 083002 (2011).
C. Paz-Soldan, R. Nazikian, S. R. Haskey, N. C. Logan, E. J. Strait, N. M. Ferraro, J. M. Hanson, J. D. King, M. J. Lanctot, R. A. Moyer, M. Okabayashi, J-K. Park, M. W. Shafer, and B. J. Tobias, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 105001 (2015).
L. Li, Y. Q. Liu, A. Kirk, N. Wang, Y. Liang, D. Ryan, W. Suttrop, M. Dunne, R. Fischer, J. C. Fuchs, B. Kurzan, P. Piovesan, M. Willensdorfer, F. C. Zhong, the ASDEX Upgrade Team and the EUROfusion MST1 Team, Nucl. Fusion 56, 126007 (2016).
F. Orain, M. Hoelzl, E. Viezzer, M. Dunne, M. B ecoulet, G. T. A. Huijsmans, P. Cahyna, J. Morales, M. Willensdorfer, and W. Suttrop, Nucl. Fusion 57, 022013 (2017).
Y. Q. Liu, A. Bondeson, C. M. Fransson, B. Lennartson, and C. Breitholtz, Phys. Plasmas 7, 3681 (2000).
D. A. Ryan, Y. Q. Liu, A. Kirk, W. Suttrop, B. Dudson, M. Dunne, R. Fischer, J. C. Fuchs, M. Garcia-Munoz, B. Kurzan, P. Piovesan, M. Reinke, M. Willensdorfer, the ASDEX-Upgrade team, and the EUROfusion MST1 team, Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 57, 095008 (2015).
Y. Q. Liu, A. Kirk, and E. Nardon, Phys. Plasmas 17, 122502 (2010).
Y. Q. Liu, J. W. Connor, S. C. Cowley, C. J. Ham, R. J. Hastie, and T. C. Hender, Phys. Plasmas 19, 072509 (2012).
A.H. Reiman, N.M. Ferraro, A. Turnbull, J.K. Park, A. Cerfon, T.E. Evans, M.J. Lanctot, E.A. Lazarus, Y. Liu, G. McFadden, Nucl. Fusion 55 063026 (2015).
A. Kirk, I.T. Chapman, Yueqiang Liu, P. Cahyna, P. Denner, G. Fishpool, C.J. Ham, J.R. Harrison, Yunfeng Liang, E. Nardon, S. Saarelma, R. Scannell, A.J. Thornton, MAST Team, Nuclear Fusion 55, 043011 (2013).
A. Kirk, W. Suttrop, I. T. Chapman, Y. Q. Liu, R. Scannell, A. J. Thornton, L. Barrera Orte, P. Cahyna, T. Eich, R. Fischer, C. Fuchs, C. Ham, J. R. Harrison, M. W. Jakubowski, B. Kurzan, S. Pamela, M. Peterka, D. Ryan, S. Saarelma, B. Sieglin, M. Valovic, M. Willensdorfer, and MAST and ASDEX Upgrade Teams, Nucl. Fusion 55, 043011 (2015).
Y. Q. Liu, D. Ryan, A. Kirk, L. Li, W. Suttrop, M. Dunne, R. Fischer, J. C. Fuchs, B. Kurzan, P. Piovesan, M. Willensdorfer, the ASDEX Upgrade Team, and the EUROfusion MST1 Team, Nucl. Fusion 56, 056015 (2016).
X. Yang, Y. Sun, Y. Liu, S. Gu, Y. Liu, H. Wang, L. Zhou, and W. Guo, Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 58, 114006 (2016).
Yueqiang Liu, A. Kirk, Li Li, Y. In, R. Nazikian, Youwen Sun, W. Suttrop, B. Lyons, D. Ryan, Shuo Wang, Xu Yang, Lina Zhou, and EUROfusion MST1 team, Phys. Plasmas 24, 056111 (2017).
T.E. Evans, D.M. Orlov, A. Wingen, W. Wu, A. Loarte, T.A. Casper, O. Schmitz, G. Saibene, M.J. Schaffer and E. Daly, Nucl. Fusion 53, 093029(2013).
fusion, tokamak, ELM control, resonant magnetic perturbation, plasma response.